Christmas ad LB

Perth Glory’s Diego Castro and Melbourne City’s Bruno Fornaroli and Aaron Mooy took out most of the end-of-season gongs for 2015-16, but A-League fans saw the season a little differently in terms of the order of merit of the three players.

According to Football Today's A-League Sentiment Survey, completed by 945 respondents, the player of the year was Melbourne City’s Bruno Fornaroli. This is consistent with part 1 of our survey which showed that 26% of respondents singled out Bruno Fornaroli and/or Luis Garcia as good quality marquee players who were amongst the highlights of the 2015-16 season. 

More than two-in-five (44%) respondents to our Sentiment Survey gave the title to Fornaroli with team mate, Aaron Mooy, in second place with a little over a quarter of the vote (26%). In equal third place was Perth Glory’s Diego Castro and Adelaide United’s Marcelo Carrusca (8% each). The remainder of the votes went to Jamie Maclaren of Brisbane Roar, Kosta Barbarouses of Melbourne Victory and Romeo Castelen of Western Sydney Wanderers.

While in the top three of other player of the year awards, Fornaroli was not a winner in any of them despite winning the Golden Boot Award with a record 25 goals.

The Johnny Warren Medal that is voted on by former players, media representatives, match officials and “coaching experts” was awarded to Diego Castro, with Mooy second and Fornaroli third. The Football Media Association, which is voted on by its 60 members, gave the top prize to Aaron Mooy with Fornaroli second and Castro third. And FOX Sports’ Alex Tobin Award, for which points are allocated every match during the season by FOX Sports pundits, was another win to Castro with Fornaroli second and Mooy in third place.

Coach of the Year

When it comes to coach of the year, the overwhelming winner was Adelaide United’s Guillermo Amor with two-thirds of the vote. Amor also won Coach of the Year in the annual A-League awards voted by his peers.

John Aloisi was second with 16% and, such was the verdict on other coaches, the third place went to those who didn’t vote in this category (4%). Two coaches received no votes at all: Kevin Muscat of Melbourne Victory and Tony Walmsley of Central Coast Mariners. 

Amor’s support came from far and wide. While all Adelaide United supporters not surprisingly voted for him, he was also popular with Melbourne Victory, Sydney FC, Wellington Phoenix and Western Sydney Wanderers fans.

Only two sets of fans did not give any votes to Amor – Brisbane Roar and Perth Glory.


The most eagerly anticipated off-season football activity (32% of respondents) is the forthcoming Euro 2016 competition that kicks-off in France on 10 June. Those most looking forward to the Euros are Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC fans.

The National Premier Leagues competition and ‘looking forward to next season’ are important to 13% and 12% of respondents respectively. Those most looking forward to next season are Newcastle Jets fans.

The Socceroos matches, the Rio Olympic Games and the FFA Cup are also welcome off-season activities for between 8 and 10% of respondents each.

In Part 1, we presented the findings related to the A-League competition overall as well as views on individual clubs. This includes information on the number of respondents who are fans of each A-League (or who do not follow the A-League at all).

Categories: Analysis | A-League

a-league, sentiment survey, bruno fornaroli, guillermo amor, npl, #euro2016

You might also like: