Christmas ad LB

Captain Mile Jedinak is back, Alex Gersbach makes a return and James Jeggo earns a spot. Those three men are the changes in Ange Postecoglou's 25-man squad for the two matches against Honduras from the previous two matches against Syria. 

Out are Mustafa Amini and Brad Smith from the Syrian squad, while those cut from the 30-man squad named last week are Mark Birighitti, Amini and attacking trio Jamie Maclaren, Awer Mabil and Ajdin Hrustic.

Postecoglou has named two more players than usual to make allowance for suspended Mark Milligan and Mathew Leckie to be included for the return game in Sydney, as well as to take account of the challenging international travel and which bodies cope best with it. However, only 12 players can be named on the bench.

Postecoglou believes the squad is a good combination of experience and form. 

“It has been pleasing to see so many of our players performing strongly for their clubs domestically and abroad, and I believe that puts us in good stead for the matches,” said Postecoglou.

“With two games in five days and extensive travel between the fixtures, every member of our squad will play an important role this November."

He signalled that the Socceroos won't change their approach and will be aiming for a "positive result" in San Pedro Sula on 10 November (11 November Australian time).

The players will begin to assemble in San Pedro Sula from Sunday 5 November 2017. They will hold up to four training sessions in Honduras to acclimatise to the local conditions prior to the first leg on Saturday 11 November Australian time at Estadio Olimpico (pictured). They will pack-up as quickly as possible after the match to head to the airport and a waiting Qantas charter aircraft to arrive in Sydney on Sunday 12 November 2017. 

The Honduras team has a much more taxing travel schedule, having to fly to Los Angeles, endure a 14-hour stopover, and then the 14-hour onward journey to Australia. They are expected to arrive in Sydney on Monday. 

Tickets are available here for the match on Wednesday 15 November at Stadium Australia. 

Socceroos 25 

  • Goalkeepers: Mitchell Langerak (Levante, Spain), Mat Ryan (Brighton, England), Danny Vukovic (Genk, Belgium).
  • Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, Turkey), Milos Degenek (Yokohama Marinos, Japan), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg, Norway), Craig Goodwin (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands), Matthew Jurman (Suwon, South Korea), Ryan McGowan (Al Sharjah, UAE), Josh Risdon (Western Sydney Wanderers), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning, China), Bailey Wright (Bristol City, England).
  • Midfielders: Jackson Irvine (Hull City, England), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa, England), James Jeggo (Sturm Graz, Austria), Massimo Luongo (QPR, England), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town, England), Tom Rogic (Celtic, Scotland), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory).
  • Attackers: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City), Tom Juric (Luzern, Switzerland), Robbie Kruse (Bochum, Germany), Mathew Leckie (Hertha Berlin, Germany), Nikita Rukavytsya (Maccabi Haifa, Israel).

Categories: News | Socceroos

socceroos, world cup qualifier, #honvaus, ausvhon, honduras, #roadtorussia

You might also like: