The National Premier Leagues (NPL) 2018 finals series kicks off on Saturday 15 September when Tasmania's Devonport Strikershost last year’s champions Heidelberg United FC from Victoria at Valley Road in the first of the elimination finals.

The remaining three elimination finals will be played the following weekend with the other teams participating:

  • Campbelltown City (SA)
  • Canberra FC (ACT)
  • Edgeworth (NNSW)
  • Lions FC (QLD)
  • Perth (WA)
  • Sydney Olympic FC (NSW)

The NPL finals series brings together the eight teams that finished top of their respective NPL standings at the end of their regular seasons to determine Australia’s best NPL side.

At one stage, FFA cancelled the finals series due to lack of funding until the Association of Australian Football Clubs and the state federations intervened. 

Last year's final series was won by Heidelberg United FC. Other past winners are:

  • 2013:  Sydney United 58 (NSW)
  • 2014:  MetroStars (SA)
  • 2015:  Blacktown City (NSW)
  • 2016:  Sydney United 58 (NSW)

The winner of the 2018 finals series will receive automatic entry into the FFA Cup 2019 final rounds, providing an added incentive for the eight clubs taking part.

The schedule is as follows:

DateMatch # / TeamsVenue

Kick-off (local time)

8 September(3) Devonport v HeidelbergValley Road, Devonport6pm
15 September (2) Canberra v Campbelltown CityDeakin Stadium, Canberra5pm
15 September(4) Lions v EdgeworthLions Stadium, Richlands7.30pm
16 September (1) Sydney Olympic v PerthLambert Park, Leichhardt3.30pm
22-23 September

(5) Winner M1 v Winner M2 and

(6) Winner M3 v Winner M4

29-30 September(7) Winner M5 v Winner M6  

There is a points system in place to determine the hosts of the two semi-finals, with the host of the grand final to be the team that has accumulated the most points in the elimination and semi-final matches. 

Categories: News | Local


You might also like: