The Pararoos, Australia’s national football team for athletes with cerebral palsy, acquired brain injury or symptoms acquired from stroke, depart for Kish Island in Iran to play at the 2018 IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championship.

The Pararoos, who are currently ranked third in the Asia-Oceania Confederation and 16th globally, will play Korea Republic on next Saturday before taking on Thailand two days later. On 28 November the Pararoos will take on Jordan, before concluding their campaign against regional heavyweights and hosts Iran the next day.

The five participating nations will compete in a single round robin, with the team that finishes on top of the pool to be crowned Champions. The winner and runner-up of the 2018 IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championship will also secure qualification for the 2019 IFCPF World Championship in Seville, Spain, to be held next July.

“We are happy with the squad going to Iran to compete in the Asia-Oceania Championship. We had to rebuild the starting seven from the successful World Championship campaign in Argentina last year after the new classification rules came in, but I am confident that we have found the right combination to achieve success in Iran,” said head coach, Kai Lammert.

“The tournament doubles as a qualification for the World Cup in Spain next year and we have to finish in the top two to qualify directly to the World Cup.

“The players are well prepared and looking forward to the challenges ahead. Iran is certainly the favourite to take out the tournament, but I believe all five teams competing in the tournament will be competitive.

“Brad Scott will be the only player who is looking to debut for the Pararoos, after Daniel Campbell and Augustine Murphy secured their debuts in the United States a few months ago,” he said.

All four of the Pararoos’ matches at the 2018 IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championship will be streamed live.

Name (State)Caps (Goals)
Ben Atkins (NSW)58 (4)
David Barber (QLD)85 (69)
Christopoher Barty (WA)29 (0)
Daniel Campbell (NSW)2 (0)
Cosimo Cirillo (VIC)3 (0)
Matthew Hearne (VIC)11 (0)
Alessandro La verghetta (WA)3 (0)
Taj Lynch (NSW)2 (0)
Angus Macgregor (VIC)3 (0)
Connor Marsh (NSW)24 (1)
Augustine Murphy (NSW)2 (0)
Christopher Pyne (NSW)92 (20)
Benjamin Roche (NSW)40 (14)
Bradley Scott (WA)0 (0)

Game 1
Australia v Korea Republic
Saturday, 24 November 2018
Kick-off: 3pm (local); 10.30pm AEDT
Live stream: http://cp-football.irisfd.ir/

Game 2
Thailand v Australia
Monday, 26 November 2018
Kick-off: 4pm (local); 11.30pm AEDT
Live stream: http://cp-football.irisfd.ir/

Game 3
Australia v Jordan
Wednesday, 28 November 2018
Kick-off: 4pm (local); 11.30pm AEDT
Live stream: http://cp-football.irisfd.ir/

Game 4
IR Iran v Australia
Thursday, 29 November 2018
Kick-off: 6pm (local); 1.30am – Friday, 30 November 2018 AEDT
Live stream: http://cp-football.irisfd.ir/

2019 IFCPF World Cup
Date: 4-20 July 2019
Location: Seville, Spain
Information: www.ifcpf.com

The Editor of Football Today, Bonita Mersiades, is a proud supporter of the Pararoos with her author proceeds from the sale of her book, Whatever It Takes - the Inside Story of the FIFA Way donated to the Pararoos ongoing fundraising campaign through Sport Australia. So far, she has provided $1,650 to them. You can purchase the book here or as an e-book via Amazon.

Categories: News | Socceroos

pararoos, ifcpf

You might also like: