Perth Glory and Matildas star, Samantha Kerr, is one of 15 women who has been nominated for the inaugural women’s Ballon d’Or while 30 men are contenders for the men’s award.

Kerr's nomination arrives after she won the Julie Dolan Medal and the PFA Player of the Year in 2018 as well as other individiual honours, and was named last week as the first 'marquee' player for the W-League. 

For the first time, France Football magazine is awarding the Ballon d'Or this year to a woman and a man. The ceremony takes place in Paris on 3 December.

The Ballon d'Or has been awarded by France Football magainze every year since 1956, with former England international Sir Stanley Matthews the first winner.

The list is compiled by the editorial staff of the French publication, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation. For six years it combined with FIFA to become the FIFA Ballon d'Or, but the association was ended in 2016.  

At FIFA's own 'Best' awards last month, Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric was named the world's best male player, while Brazil and Orlando Pride forward Marta won the best female player award.

Either Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won the Ballon d'Or since 2008 - five times each. 

The nominees for this year's Ballon d'Or are:


Lucy Bronze, LyonPernille Harder, Werder Brême
Ada Hegerberg, LyonAmandine Henry, Lyon
Lindesey Horan, Portland ThornsFran Kirby, Chelsea
Sam Kerr, Perth Glory/Red StarsSaki Kumagai, Lyon
Amel Majri, LyonDzsenifer Marozsan, Lyon
Marta, Orlando PrideLieke Martens, Barcelona
Megan Rapinoe, Seattle ReignWendie Renard, Lyon
Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns 


Sergio Agüero, Manchester CityAlisson Becker, Liverpool
Gareth Bale, Real MadridKarim Benzema, Real Madrid
Edinson Cavani, PSGThibaut Courtois, Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo, JuventusKevin De Bruyne, Manchester City
Roberto Firmino, LiverpoolDiego Godín, Atlético Madrid
Antoine Griezmann, Atlético MadridEden Hazard, Chelsea
Isco, Real MadridHarry Kane, Tottenham
N’golo Kanté, ChelseaHugo Lloris, Tottenham
Mario Mandzukic, JuventusSadio Mané, Liverpool
Marcelo, Real MadridKylian Mbappé, PSG
Lionel Messi, BarcelonaLuka Modric, Real Madrid
Neymar, PSGJan Oblak, Atlético Madrid
Paul Pogba, Manchester UnitedIvan Rakitic, Barcelona
Sergio Ramos, Real MadridMohamed Salah, Liverpool
Luis Suárez, BarcelonaRaphaël Varane, Real Madrid

Categories: News | Women

ballon d'or, samantha kerr

You might also like: