Australia's Samantha Kerr has been named as one of the shortlisted players on the BBC Women's Footballer of the Year award.

The four other candidates, pictured left-to-right below with Kerr, are Lucy Bronze (England and Olympic Lyonnais), Pernille Harder (Denmark and Vfl Wolfsburg), Dzenifer Marozsan (Germany and Olympic Lyonnais) and Lieke Martens (Netherlands and FC Barcelona Femeni). 

Kerr's club teams are Perth Glory and Chicago Red Stars. 

“I guess it’s pretty crazy to think out of the whole world there’s only five players (that have) been nominated. There are so many great players that I look up to and I don’t put myself in the same sentence as them so obviously it’s a huge honour and a pretty surreal feeling to be honest,” Kerr said on hearing of her nomination. 

In 2017, Kerr also won Asian Women's Player of the Year, the NWSL Most Valuable Player award and was nominated in the FIFA Best awards (won by Martens). 

Now in its fourth year, the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year celebrates the skill and commitment of the individual players.

Last year’s winner was Norwegian footballer Ada Hegerberg who plays for Olympique Lyonnais.  The 2016 winner was Scottish footballer Kim Little who plays for Arsenal, and the 2015 winner was Nigerian footballer Asisat Oshoala who now plays for Dalian Quanjian Football Club in China. 

“The BBC Women's Footballer of the Year also celebrates the rapidly growing popularity of the women’s game,” said Mary Hockaday, Controller of the BBC World Service. 

“Across the globe, millions of women are playing football, crowds are growing, and anticipation is building ahead of next year’s Women’s World Cup.  The five shortlisted players are at the top of their game, and fans around the world now have a chance to vote for their favourite player.” 

The shortlist was selected by a panel of experts involved in the game from all around the world, including coaches, players, administrators and journalists.

Voting is now open to all and can be made at bbc.com/womensfootball. The vote will close on 8 May (5pm AEST) and the winner will be revealed on 22 May 2018. You can follow the voting at #BBCWFOTY2018. 

Categories: News | Women

#bbcwfoty2018, samantha kerr, women's football

You might also like: