At a glance

  • Sweden, 1 (Emil FORSBERG 66') v Switzerland, 0
  • England, 1 (Harry KANE 57' pen) v Colombia, 1 (Yerry MINA 90'+3). England win on penalties, 3-4.

Sweden will meet England in the quarter-final match on Friday (Saturday morning AEST) in Samara. Sweden won in their usual manner by sitting deep, defending well and using the counter-attack. For Colombian goalscorer, Yerry Mina, it was his third goal at this World Cup, equalling the record for most goals by a defender at a single World Cup. For England, it was history-making: it is the first time they have won a penalty shootout in a World Cup. (By the way, check out Jordan Henderson #8 in our feature pic!)

The winner of Sweden v England will meet the winner of Russia v Croatia.

And the stats from today? What it shows is that England ran only four kilometres less than Russia in their round of 16 match, which could make for an interesting semi-final if they both get that far (if you will excuse the pun).

Pass accuracy73%83%78%82%
Passes complete198500405471
Distance covered105km103km136km143km

FFA revenue

Ray Gatt has a follow-up piece on FFA revenue issues, this time with the two biggest state Member federations, NSW and Victoria, writing to FFA with a 'please explain' over the national registration fee increase which, as we noted yesterday, represents an 11% increase for juniors and 32% increase for adults. Gatt also suggests that David Gallop's letter to A-League clubs is likely to set-up another battle between clubs and the governing body with the withdrawal of the $300,000 per club grant from the 'Marquee Fund'. The $3 million will instead be held centrally at the insistence of FOX Sports. Gatt says the big question for FFA is how come they're only budgeting for a “modest” surplus of $1 million when it will have received USD$9.5 million (approximately AUD$12.9 million on current exchange rates) from FIFA for the World Cup. FFA continue to maintain that most of their money goes on the A-League. 

Regrettably, some journalists, commentators and club officials see this issue as being the Socceroos 'taking' the money which juniors and other players are paying. It's not as simple as that, and we will write further on it. 

PFA Awards

The PFA held a lavish $300/head 25-year anniversary dinner last night as part of its annual awards. The Alex Tobin Medal for services to fellow professional players was handed to Paul Okon. The player awards - voted by the players - were awarded to Aaron Mooy and Samantha Kerr for players of the year and Daniel Arzani and Alex Chidiac for young players of the year. Chidiac also won last year. 

2018 world cup, ffa revenue, ffa, pfa

You might also like: